USF Hosts Awards Banquet in Honor of the 75 Legends of USF Athletics
Members of NCAA 1955-1956 Championship Basketball Teams to Receive 50th Anniversary Rings
Sept. 14, 2005

In celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the University of San Francisco, the Athletics Department will be honoring the school’s 75 greatest athletic Legends at an Awards Reception and Banquet on October 14, 2005. Each Legend will be given a commemorative award as well as a copy of the book Legends of the Hilltop. Members of the 1955 - 1956 NCAA Championship Basketball teams will also be honored during the evening’s festivities. Selecting the best teams, coaches and players in USF athletic history was not an easy project. Over the past two years, the Legends Committee met to develop an equitable method for honoring worthy individuals and teams that had made a significant contribution to USF athletics. The pool of candidates included members of the USF Hall of Fame as well as individuals who were nominated by the committee, fans, alumni and friends. A Selection Committee then determined which of the candidates and teams to honor.

The 75 honorees include:

BASEBAll: Taggert Bozied, Jermaine Clark, Cornelius “Con” Dempsey, and Dana Hendershott.

MEN’S BASKETBALL: Eugene Brown, Bill Cartwright, Joseph Ellis, Mike Farmer, Robert Gaillard, Ollie Johnson, K.C. Jones, Don Lofgran, Raymond Maloney, Kevin Restani, William Russell, and Phil Smith

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL: Valerie Gillon, Mary Hile-Nepfel and Brittany Lindhe

MEN’S BOXING: Gene Cervelli

COACHING: Dante Benedetti, Augustine Donoghue, Joseph Kuharich, Stephen Negoesco, James Needles, Bill Nepfel, Peter Newell, and Phil Woolpert

FENCING: Gerard Esponda

CROSS COUNTRY: Kari McCallum Cuneo

FOOTBALL: James Barber, Charles “Ed” Brown, Jack Gaddy, Oscar Higuera, Russ Letlow, Gino Marchetti, Ollie Matson, Dave Olerich, John O’Marie, Alexander Schwarz, Joseph Scudero, Richard Stanfel, Robert St. Clair, and Burl Toler

MEN’S GOLF: Todd Fischer

WOMEN’S GOLF: Susie Laing

MEN’S RIFLE: Anthony Sherman

VOLLEYBALL: Brittanie Budinger and Kathleen A. Schindler

TENNIS: Arthur Larsen, Harry Likas and Sam Match

TRACK & FIELD: Robert Kleckner

MEN’S SOCCER: Peter Arnautoff, Andy Atuegbu, Bjorn Dahl, John Doyle, Anthony Gray, Torgier Hauge, Sandor Hites, Mike Ivanow, Aram Kardzair, Erik Nielsen, Joseph Njoku-Obi, Alexander Nwosu, and Staale Soebye

WOMEN’S SOCCER: Shanna Haines-Blanchard

SOFTBALL: Dianna Albini

VOLLEYBALL: Melanie Kaiser-Daggs

ADVANCEMENT OF ATHLETICS: John Giambastini, SJ, Charles Harney, William Henneberry, Sandee Hill, Tom Rice, and Pete Rozelle.

The awards banquet will be held Under the Big Top on Welch field between St. Ignatius Church and Campion Hall. The evening begins with hosted cocktails at 7:00 PM followed by dinner and the program at 8:00 PM. Tickets are $150.00 per person. Each ticket includes the Awards Reception and Banquet, one copy each of the books Legends of the Hilltop and Legacy and Promise as well as admission to the Alumni Dinner on October 15, 2005 from 7:00 - 9:00 pm. Tables of ten are available for $1,000. Individual tickets exclusively for the Awards Reception and Banquet on October 14th are $100.00 each. Please call Greg Sempadian at (415) 422 - 6891 for additional details.

Editor’s Note: Peter Arnautoff is a 14-year veteran firefighter at S.F.F.D. Rescue Squad 2. His soccer resume consist of: 1975-1978 USF - 3 time Division One, NCAA Champions, one time 2nd in Nation, 1976 Set NCAA Record - 0 Goals against for the NCAA Tournament, finished season with 5 straight shutouts, 1980 Olympic Team - Moscow Olympics, Pro Soccer - Oakland, Edmonton, Philadelphia, LA - 4 Years, and 1982 US National Team - World Cup in Spain.


Main Menu