Softball Championship Returns to Station 6
By Steve Gonzales
The 2006 SFFD Local 798 softball season concluded on June 13th with Station 6 beating Station 9, 18-11. It was the 2nd championship in 3 years for the group from 6.

The season itself was a battle from the beginning, with month-long rains, soggy fields, and scheduling conflicts turning the league into an often delayed four-month ordeal. The softball committee scheduled a 3-game mini season, followed by a 3-week double elimination tournament.

Both Station 15 and Station 6 emerged undefeated in the shortened regular season, winning all three of their games. The double elimination tournament would begin on May 30th with a series of first and second round games. The games of May 30th saw Station 9 and Station 6 escape with 2 wins each, while the remaining six stations, all with one loss, would be forced to battle the following week for the right to continue. On June 6th, Station 15 survived the ‘losers’ bracket, advancing to play on the final day with Station 9 and Station 6.

June 13th began in the ‘winners’ bracket with Station 9 and Station 6 going against each other. Station 6 jumped ahead 2-0 after the 1st inning, and stretched the lead to 4-0 after Bob Mateik and Ernie Carrillo scored in the 2nd. Station 9 responded and by the bottom of the 4th, the game was tied at 4-4. In the bottom of the 4th, Station 6 was able to plate 5 runs to take a 9-4 lead. The inning was capped off by Ambulance driver Jack Taylor’s pop-up, which somehow turned into a homerun. Both teams exchanged 2 spots, so heading into the top of the 6th, Station 6 still held an 11-6 lead. Station 9 was not about to go quietly, as they put together a series of hits that led to a 6-run inning, topped off by a Rick Aviles grand slam. Station 9 had a 12-11 lead, but that lead was short-lived as Station 6 rallied for 4 runs in the bottom of the 6th. Steve Gonzales and Dave Russell had key singles in the inning to give the lead back to 6, 15-12. A quiet 7th inning followed as Station 6 survived, and advanced to the championship game with a 15-12 win.

Station 6’s opponent in the championship game was determined when Station 9 again defeated Station 15 in the ‘losers’ bracket. The final was now set ... Station 6 versus Station 9.

The championship game saw Station 9, playing their 3rd game of the day, jump ahead 2-0 after 3 innings. A couple of fine defensive plays by Steve Cassidy and Claudio Rivieccio kept Station 9 from getting an even bigger lead. Hondo DeAlba sparked 9 with a couple of hits, while Morgan Lee was pitching a one-hitter. After Station 9 stretched the lead to 4-0, Station 6’s bats began to wake up. John “The Pride” Hanley started a rally, Antonio Vernon and steady Nate Szutu singled, and the game was tied at 4-4 going to the 5th inning. Station 9 promptly regained an 8-4 lead in the top of the 5th, but a mighty blast gave Station 6 the lead back at 9-8. Brian Walsh made his impact with a well-struck home run to straight away center field. Ambulance driver Jack Taylor was again unable to hold the lead as Station 9 strung together 4 hits to go up 11-9. The bottom of the 6th turned Staion 9’s dreams into a nightmare. Key hits from Ruben Montero and Rich “night league” Brown tied the game at 11-11 and the flood gates soon opened. Station 6 would add 7 more hits in the inning to take an 18-11 lead to the final frame. 3 outs would follow in the top of the 7th, and Station 6 had their championship back.

Congrats to all who participated ... great year ! Eric (3-0) Sadler, Ken Cordero, Tim Neff, PX Johannssen. The stand-bys! and Wyrsch.

As always, thanks to everyone that makes the Local 798 softball league work. 798 ... Thank You !! for all you do. Gail ... the endless paperwork. The committee (Engler, Scheppler, Taylor) for dealing with all the bs. The umpires, and Station #1 (Rey, Gracia, Gregory) for another great championship day bar-b-que. And the fans ... the retirees !! Congrats to all at Station 6 ...

Champions - Station 6
2nd Place - Station 9
Photos by Hack Photo


Main Menu