2007 Softball Championship Game
The 2007 Local 798 softball league concluded on June 19th with Station 6 defeating Station 3, 6-3. It was the 2nd straight undefeated season for the group from SIX, which has not lost a Local 798 softball league game since 2005.

Station 6 saw many changes during the 2007 season, none more important than putting a new coach/strategist in place. Undefeated (13-0) first-year coach Ernie ‘Team Especial’ Carrillo took over the reigns of the Station 6 softball dynasty, and with plenty of help from injured players Russell & Brown, along with sound ?? advice from retired legend Tom Kelly, Station 6 returned to the winner’s circle.

The championship game saw Station 6 again do battle with Station 3. Station 3 was once again led to the finals by their coach, and league commissioner, Steve Engler. The game itself turned into a fierce pitcher’s duel between 6’s Gonzales and Station 3’s ‘Snack’ Taylor. It was a scoreless battle until the bottom of the 2nd when Station 6 plated the first 2 runs of the game to go up 2-0. That score held up until the 4th when 6’s Dave Monteverdi singled in a run to make it 3-0. When Station 6 added 3 runs in the bottom of the 6th to stretch their lead to 6-0, it was only a matter of getting the final 3 outs to secure their championship.

Station 6 has now won 7 out of the last 13 Local 798 softball championships. They won this year’s title with defense, led by outfielders Ruben Montero, Antonio Vernon, Nate Szutu, Dave Crespin, Rob Ramirez, and Bob ‘Auto’ Mateik. Infielders Steve Cassidy, Matt Alba, and Eric Zammarchi, all played well. And as usual, a long list of catchers, including Greg Wyrsch, Darren Brannan and new daddy Eric Sadler all made their marks. Recent Station 6 addition Drew Gleason also saw playing time. A special ‘thanks’ to 6’s newly retired Steve Hart, for all those pitching tips over the years ... you are the best! And last but not least, to the executive board @ Local 798, for keeping John Hanley busy enough to miss EVERY game. His absence was a blessing ...

Local 798 ... thank you for all you do. The commissioners ... Scheppler, Engler and Taylor, a job well done. To the group from the Alley, led by Danny Gracia ... another fantastic bar-b-que. Umpires ... thanks. And to all the participants in this year’s league ... thanks for keeping the league alive. The 2008 league will see Station 6 go for a record-tying 3rd straight championship, accomplished once before by the softball dynasty from the Sunset (Lyons, Wetto, Hondo, Hart, Uncle Greg, Coffey, Gonzo) in the early 90’s.

P.s. To all who missed this year’s Olympics in San Diego, and opening day @ DelMar ... shame on you!!

Champions - Station 6
Station 3


Main Menu